Album Network

The Palms EP


Idaho (from Los Angeles, not the Spud State) are one of those unique bands with potential as well as true human emotion. The Palms EP (Caroline) is a four-song collection of ethereal dreaminess and explosive tension given form and substance by John Berry’s slo-mo power chords and sculptured feedback. Jeff Martin’s vocals (sounding as if someone not only stole his dog, but also sent back its head in a box) hover above the sprawling guitar wash and imbue the songs with a forlorn and pained essence drawn from disenfranchisement with the world. Instead of wallowing in self-pity, however, Idaho (who are managed by Kim White and Erin Culley) use these emotional wrecks to create the compassionate and empathic compositions on The Palms EP. All four tracks (“Creep” [not the Radiohead song], “Fall Around,” “Gone” and “You Are There”) are worth attention. Keep your ears open for Idaho’s full-length debut, due out this fall.